The future is female

Usually articles about how ‘the future is female’ are the stuff of weekend newspaper supplements and free newspapers – by which I mean they’re quite entertaining, but they’re basically junk. But I just read this article in The Atlantic and I thought it was worth sharing – it made me think about the changing nature of gender inequalities in education and the labour market. It might also be completely wrong, but if it is then it’s thought-provoking and wrong, which is an improvement on most of what I read…

About Ben Baumberg

I am currently a Lecturer in Sociology and Social Policy at the School of Social Policy, Sociology and Social Research (SSPSSR) at the University of Kent. I also helped set up the collaborative research blog Inequalities, where I regularly write articles and short blog posts. I have a wide range of (too many...) research interests, at the moment focusing on disability, the workplace, inequality, deservingness and the future of the benefits system, and the relationship between evidence and policy. You can find out more about me at http://www.benbaumberg.com
This entry was posted in Blog posts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

